Friday, April 25, 2014

Property Mapping in Navisworks 2015


  • Property Mapping allows you to map the takeoff properties to the model properties for the entire item calculations.
     
  • It can be used by choosing the Property Mapping button available in the Item Catalog window. This feature can be used where the dimensional properties of geometry will have multiple names.
     
  • To nullify the global Property Mapping, a new tab Item Map Rules is added in the Item Catalog window which allows you to map the individual takeoff properties to the model properties for a particular item.










Saturday, April 19, 2014

Top five Navisworks 2015 Enhancements


Interoperability Enhancements


  • Navisworks 2015 brings various improvements to model file and data integration such as better control over Revit faceting factor.
  • Combines multi format data into a single model.

Quantification


  • Navisworks 2015 introduces 2D takeoff.
  • Efficient 3D quantification includes property mapping which allows you to work with multiple formats.

Cloud Rendering


  • Navisworks 2015 introduces Autodesk 360 Cloud Rendering which allows the customers having Autodesk Cloud Service Subscription to connect  and produce high resolution scene.

Autodesk Rendering Enhancements


  • Navisworks 2015 includes multiple range of preset rendering settings to choose the quality and control the speed of rendering.

Reality Capture Enhancements


  • Navisworks 2015 allows you to work with enhanced point cloud data integration.
  • Navisworks 2015 supports better point cloud visualization
  • Navisworks 2015 introduces real capture workflows with AutoCAD 3D CAD software, Revit BIM software, and Inventor 3D mechanical design software.

Friday, February 28, 2014

Working with Navisworks and BIM 360 Glue

BIM 360 is a cloud based software using which anybody can access and share the project information. It helps in improving the coordination and collaboration process within the team. Navisworks and BIM 360 are used for the same purpose i.e for reviewing models, navigation, and clash detection. For example, performing a same clash test on both the software will produce same results. You can use Navisworks and BIM 360 on your projects in various ways:

Ø Model data can be shared with the team members. For example, if you have appended multi-discipline models in Navisworks and want to share with your team. Then you can use the BIM 360 add-in app to glue the model to BIM 360.
Ø  BIM 360 can be used for collecting and managing models from different team members and then bringing it to Navisworks.

Ø  As it can be accessed from anywhere so it is widely used by the team members to coordinate between themselves such as resolving clashes.

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Buzzsaw

Description
The Autodesk® Buzzsaw® mobile app for Android smartphones and tablets lets Buzzsaw users securely access Architecture, Engineering, and Construction (AEC) project designs and documents from anywhere. View 2D and 3D DWF® files, view metadata and data about elements in your designs, view project documents and images, and upload project photos directly to the Buzzsaw cloud.

If you are a Buzzsaw user, you can use the Buzzsaw mobile app to:

Securely access your AEC project information
· Secure, authenticated access to your project data in the Buzzsaw cloud.
· Fully supports all 8 Buzzsaw permission levels for your AEC projects.
· Easily and securely access multiple projects and sites from your Android smartphone or tablet.

Review project designs and documents from anywhere
· View 2D and 3D DWF® files and data about specific elements in your designs when you are away from the office or at the jobsite.
· Download AutoCAD® DWG® and DXF™ files from Buzzsaw and open with AutoCAD WS for viewing.
· View project photos, images, and other documents.

Collaborate with your AEC project team
· Capture and share project photos and images with your project team.
· Open and edit DWG® and DXF® files managed on Buzzsaw directly from AutoCAD WS.
· Open and edit files managed on Buzzsaw directly from other mobile productivity apps via WebDAV.

If you are not a Buzzsaw user, sign up for a FREE 30-Day trial at www.autodesk.com/buzzsaw

Saturday, February 15, 2014

Autodesk Quantity Takeoff

Cost Estimating & Quantity Surveying Software
Autodesk® Quantity Takeoff building cost estimating software makes material costing faster, easier, and more accurate. Cost estimators can create synchronized, comprehensive project views that combine important information from building information modeling (BIM) tools such as Revit® Architecture, Revit® Structure, and Revit® MEP software together with geometry, images, and data from other tools. Automatically or manually measure areas and count building components, export to Microsoft® Excel®, and publish to DWF™ format.
  • Takeoff in minutes automatically—Perform a takeoff on an entire building information model (BIM) in just minutes through integration of 2D and 3D design data.
  • Greater flexibility than typical databases or spreadsheets—Perform interactive examination of 3D models for material cost estimating purposes.
  • Dynamic counting—Count and quantify design data quickly and easily.
  • More efficient manual takeoff—Supports the takeoff of JPG, TIF, PDF, and other “nonintelligent” image formats.
  • Share, query, and clarify—Generate quantities linked to specific objects. Mark up and “round-trip” your comments.
  • Faster and more insightful quantity reports—Create summaries and detailed quantity surveying reports quickly and easily.

Working with multiple sheets and models

Sometimes you need to work with multiple files at a time for example the 2D sheets and 3D models, which is not an easy task. In Navisworks, Project Browser window helps you in achieving this. In the Project Browser window, you can add multiple sheets and models. This window can be accessed by choosing the Project Browser button located in the Status Bar. In the window, you will choose the Import Sheets and Models button; the Insert From File dialog box will be displayed, from where you will browse the files and add them to the window. Next, to prepare the sheets and models you need to click on the icon next to the file. Now, you can navigate to these sheets and models using the Next Sheet and Previous Sheet buttons. Figure given below shows the Project Browser window with list of files added.

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Linking Data Sources to the Model

Various data sources such as excel files, scripts, webpages, images, audio, and video files can be linked to model elements. For example, to link an excel file select the model element and choose the Add Link tool from the Item Tools > Appearance; the Add Link dialog box will be displayed. In this dialog box, specify the file name. Browse to the required excel file choosing the Browse button. Next, choose the Add button to specify the location in the model where the link will be displayed. Choose the OK button; the sheet will be linked and an icon will be displayed near the selected model element. Click on the icon to view the sheet. In the same way, you can link various data sources to the model element.



Configuring and Saving workspace

You can create separate workspaces as per your corporate standards and share them with the other users. For example, different windows can be grouped together. Choose the Save Workspace tool from the Workspace panel of the View tab; the Save Current Workspace dialog box will be displayed. Specify the name and choose the Save button; the workspace will be saved as an .xml file. The saved workspace can be loaded whenever required. In the figure given below, you can see that the Saved Viewpoints and Properties windows are grouped together.

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Comparing two models in Navisworks

In Navisworks, two model can be compared at a time. First load the model and then append the other model using the Append tool. Next, select both the models in the Selection Tree window and choose the Compare tool from the Tools panel of the Home tab; the Compare dialog box will be displayed, refer to figure given below. Specify the options for finding the differences between two models by selecting the required check boxes in the Find Differences In area. You can configure the displayed results by selecting the required check boxes in the Results area and then choose the OK button; the results will be displayed in the Scene View.


In the Scene View the items highlighted with the red color will show the items with differences, white will represent the matching items, yellow will represent the first model containing the things not found in second model and the cyan color will represent the second  model containing the things not found in first model.

Exporting TimeLiner Simulation as an AVI file

In Timeliner, after creating and playing simulation you can export the simulation as an AVI file using Export Animation dialog box. This dialog box can be invoked by choosing the Export Animation button from the Simulate tab. In this dialog box, make sure to select the TimeLiner Simulation option from the Source drop-down list. Select the Windows AVI option from the Format drop-down list and choose the OK button. Save the file with the desired name. Now, you can use this video clip to play the simulation.

Monday, December 9, 2013

Loading Additional Materials In Navisworks

The default list of materials displayed in the Presenter window are not enough for some of the users. They can use more materials for detail rendering using Presenter. For this, go to Options Editor dialog box and then go to Tools > Presenter and choose Advanced option from the Profile drop-down list and choose the OK button.


Secret Setting Options in Navisworks

You can access some of the secret settings options by holding the SHIFT key and choose the Options button from the Application Menu. On doing so, you will see a different Options Editor dialog box. Fig 3 shows the Options Editor dialog box with different options.

Thursday, December 5, 2013

BIM 360 Field

Autodesk is revolutionizing the construction industry by changing the way work in the field is managed and executed.
Autodesk provides field management software for construction. Unlike carrying pads of paper and tubes of drawings on the jobsite, Autodesk® BIM 360™ Field combines mobile technologies and BIM at the point of construction with reporting for management. Using Autodesk BIM 360 Field measurably improves the quality, safety and profitability of projects and companies.

Monday, December 2, 2013

Contour Crafting


It is a layered fabrication technology developed by Dr. Behrokh Khoshnevis of the University of Southern California. Contour Crafting technology has great potential for automating the construction of whole structures as well as sub-components. It involves a 3D printing process which reduces the energy use and emissions. It is made up of robotic arms and extrusion nozzles, a computer-controlled gantry system moves the nozzle back and forth, squeezing out layers of concrete or other material to fabricate a form. The ultimate goal is to print a house in a day while drastically reducing material and energy consumption. It can construct a single house or a colony of houses, each with possibly a different design, automatically in a single run, embedded in each house all the conduits for electrical, plumbing and air-conditioning. The potential applications of this technology are far reaching including but not limited to applications in emergency, low-income, and commercial housing. Contour Crafting can help reduce the cost of commercial construction because it  promises to eliminate waste of construction materials.

Thursday, November 28, 2013

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

In Navisworks, different parts of a model can be viewed at a time by splitting the Scene View vertically and horizontally. The options can be accessed from the View > Scene View > Split View drop-down. Figure 2 shows the model in 4 windows.

Fig 2 Building model views in four windows

Thursday, October 10, 2013

STAAD.Pro V8i

STAAD.Pro is the most popular structural analysis and design software which is used to model and design the structures virtually. It has been developed by Bentley’s Systems. This software allows you to analyze and design wide variety of structures. You can use this software to design buildings, culverts, petrochemical plants, bridges, and so on. Among the many benefits it confers are:

·         Flexible modeling environment
·         Supports 70 international and 20 US codes
·         Easy generation of loads
·         Wide application in structural engineering
·         Perform linear, delta, dynamic, and non-linear analysis

·         Generates high quality reports

Autodesk BIM 360 Glue


Autodesk BIM 360 Glue is a cloud based data management solution which provides easy access to the project models and data anywhere.


In the release of Autodesk Navisworks 2014 a bidirectional workflow between Navisworks Manage, Simulate, and Glue has been introduced. It allows the users to manage, coordinate, and publish the project models for the team members to access and work within the cloud.