Various data sources such as excel files, scripts, webpages, images, audio, and video files can be linked to model elements. For example, to link an excel file select the model element and choose the Add Link tool from the Item Tools > Appearance; the Add Link dialog box will be displayed. In this dialog box, specify the file name. Browse to the required excel file choosing the Browse button. Next, choose the Add button to specify the location in the model where the link will be displayed. Choose the OK button; the sheet will be linked and an icon will be displayed near the selected model element. Click on the icon to view the sheet. In the same way, you can link various data sources to the model element.
Thursday, February 6, 2014
Linking Data Sources to the Model
Configuring and Saving workspace
You can create separate workspaces as per your corporate
standards and share them with the other users. For example, different windows
can be grouped together. Choose the Save Workspace tool from the Workspace
panel of the View tab; the Save Current Workspace dialog box will be displayed.
Specify the name and choose the Save button; the workspace will be saved as an
.xml file. The saved workspace can be loaded whenever required. In the figure given below, you can see that the Saved Viewpoints and Properties windows are grouped together.
Tuesday, December 17, 2013
Comparing two models in Navisworks
In Navisworks, two model can be compared at a time. First load the model and then append the other model using the Append tool. Next, select both the models in the Selection Tree window and choose the Compare tool from the Tools panel of the Home tab; the Compare dialog box will be displayed, refer to figure given below. Specify the options for finding the differences between two models by selecting the required check boxes in the Find Differences In area. You can configure the displayed results by selecting the required check boxes in the Results area and then choose the OK button; the results will be displayed in the Scene View.
In the Scene View the items highlighted with the red color will show the items with differences, white will represent the matching items, yellow will represent the first model containing the things not found in second model and the cyan color will represent the second model containing the things not found in first model.
Exporting TimeLiner Simulation as an AVI file
In Timeliner, after creating and playing simulation you can export the simulation as an AVI file using Export Animation dialog box. This dialog box can be invoked by choosing the Export Animation button from the Simulate tab. In this dialog box, make sure to select the TimeLiner Simulation option from the Source drop-down list. Select the Windows AVI option from the Format drop-down list and choose the OK button. Save the file with the desired name. Now, you can use this video clip to play the simulation.
Monday, December 9, 2013
Loading Additional Materials In Navisworks
The default list of materials displayed in the Presenter window are not enough for some of the users. They can use more materials for detail rendering using Presenter. For this, go to Options Editor dialog box and then go to Tools > Presenter and choose Advanced option from the Profile drop-down list and choose the OK button.
Thursday, December 5, 2013
BIM 360 Field
Autodesk is revolutionizing the construction industry by changing the way work in the field is managed and executed.
Autodesk provides field management software for construction. Unlike carrying pads of paper and tubes of drawings on the jobsite, Autodesk® BIM 360™ Field combines mobile technologies and BIM at the point of construction with reporting for management. Using Autodesk BIM 360 Field measurably improves the quality, safety and profitability of projects and companies.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)




